Arts & literature

Fine Arts: Gale OneFile

Search millions of articles about drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. Diverse resource for serious fine arts students. 

LitFinder: Gale Literature

Access literary works and authors throughout history, including full-text poems, plays, short stories, speeches, and more. 

NoveList Plus

Baffled by book recommendations from online sites? Exhausted your streaming queue? Ready for something new? No matter what your age or interests, with NoveList Plus, you'll can find titles, articles, and lists for both your fiction and nonfiction needs. Happy reading!

Religion and Philosophy: Gale OneFile

Research the impact of religion on culture throughout history, including literature, arts, and language. Updated daily.

Ask A Librarian!

Ask A Librarian!

Need a little help with your research? Or maybe you'd like a book recommendation. Whatever your information needs, we're here to help. Just ask a librarian!

Automobile maintenance & repair

Chilton Library

Chilton manuals for auto maintenance and repair.

Business

Agriculture: Gale OneFile

Access current and authoritative periodical content covering agriculture and its related fields. 

Business: Gale OneFile

Understand the activities of companies and industries worldwide through leading business and trade publications. Updated daily. 

Business Insights: Global

Compare global economies, countries, and industries with in-depth analysis on over 400,000 companies. 

Business Plan Builder: Gale Business

Gale Business: Plan Builder is a step-by-step online planning tool for starting, managing and optimizing a business or nonprofit. The program’s intuitive dashboard walks users through five areas of exploration to develop a business plan focused on long-term success.

Communications & Mass Media: Gale OneFile

Search millions of articles covering all aspects of communications, including advertising, public relations, and more. 

Computer Science: Gale OneFile

Access leading business and technical publications in the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries. 

DemographicsNow: Business and People - from Gale Business

A powerful online subscription resource, Gale Business: DemographicsNow connects users with a wealth of highly detailed demographic data that spans the entire United States—making it ideal for gaining consumer and market insight for opening a business, finding an untapped audience for products/services, analyzing the shifts and needs of a given population, and much more.

Economics and Theory: Gale OneFile

Discover content useful for starting a business, marketing a product, developing policy, analyzing trends, and more.

Entrepreneurship: Gale Business

Designed specifically for peoppl who are starting or operating their own business. Learn how to start, finance, or manage your small business. Includes sample business plans, how to guides, legal forms, articles, and more. 

Entrepreneurship: Gale OneFile

Analyze business insights, tips, strategies, and success stories. Updated daily. Best for business schools and entrepreneurs.

Hospitality and Tourism: Gale OneFile

Discover well-rounded coverage of both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism industries. 

Insurance and Liability: Gale OneFile

Discover information about physical and intellectual asset protection, from individuals to multinational corporations. 

Leadership and Management: Gale OneFile

Search authoritative periodical content covering topics like organizational dynamics, adult learning, and more.

Career prep & job hunting

Business Plan Builder: Gale Business

Gale Business: Plan Builder is a step-by-step online planning tool for starting, managing and optimizing a business or nonprofit. The program’s intuitive dashboard walks users through five areas of exploration to develop a business plan focused on long-term success.

Culinary Arts: Gale OneFile

Find a variety of information from major cooking and nutrition magazines as well as key reference titles. 

Employment Security Department

Whether your are job seeking or unable to work, Employment Security has programs that may be useful.

LinkedIn Learning

LinkedIn Learning, formerly Lynda.com, is a leading online learning platform that helps anyone learn business, software, technology and creative skills to achieve personal and professional goals. Through the Washington State Library subscription, patrons have access to the LinkedIn Learning video library of engaging, top-quality courses taught by recognized industry experts. For 20 years, Lynda.com has helped students, leaders, IT and design pros, project managers—anyone in any role—develop software, creative, and business skills. 

Northstar Digital Literacy

Northstar Digital Literacy is an online learning platform focused on everyday computer skills. Register for a free account to get access to their courses and tests: Basic Computer Skills, Internet Basics, Using Email, Windows, Microsoft Products, Social Media, Information Literacy, Career Search Skills, Your Digital Footprint, K-12 Distance Learning. 

To receive a certificate for passing one of the assessment tests, the test must be proctored.  Email the Washington State Library at certify@sos.wa.gov to inquire about taking a proctored assessment; be sure to include your ZIP code in the request.

Northstar is made available to Washington citizens by the Washington State Library.

Visit Northstar Digital Literacy

 

Petersons Test and Career Prep - from Gale Presents

Practice tests and preparation guides for college entrance, career certifications and much more.

Vocations and Careers: Gale OneFile

Research a vocation, find an appropriate institution of learning, and get assistance on job searches and maintaining a career.

Washington State Employment Security Department

This state department provides inclusive workforce solutions that promote economic resilience and prosperity.

WorkSource Washington

WorkSource is a statewide partnership of state, local and nonprofit agencies that provides an array of employment and training services to job seekers and employers in Washington.

Consumer reviews & recommendations

A to Z World Travel

A comprehensive travel guide providing practical information for experiencing the world and all its wonders, for travelers and students alike. For patrons with 7-digit library card numbers: add the prefix CSSWL (all CAPS) directly in front of your card number to log in. 

Business Plan Builder: Gale Business

Gale Business: Plan Builder is a step-by-step online planning tool for starting, managing and optimizing a business or nonprofit. The program’s intuitive dashboard walks users through five areas of exploration to develop a business plan focused on long-term success.

Chilton Library

Chilton manuals for auto maintenance and repair.

Consumer Reports

Consumer Reports is an independent, nonprofit member organization that works side by side with consumers for truth, transparency, and fairness in the marketplace. Consumer Reports works to create a fair and just marketplace for all.

DemographicsNow: Business and People - from Gale Business

A powerful online subscription resource, Gale Business: DemographicsNow connects users with a wealth of highly detailed demographic data that spans the entire United States—making it ideal for gaining consumer and market insight for opening a business, finding an untapped audience for products/services, analyzing the shifts and needs of a given population, and much more.

Home Improvement: Gale OneFile

Search home improvement topics such as architectural techniques, tool and material selection, zoning requirements, and more. 

Countries & cultures

Access World News: Research Collection

Explore and stay informed on local, national and international topics, people and events in areas such as business, health, education, jobs and careers, political and social issues and more. Features a wide variety of credible, vetted news sources from around the world to around the corner. Includes lesson plans!

A to Z World Travel

A comprehensive travel guide providing practical information for experiencing the world and all its wonders, for travelers and students alike. For patrons with 7-digit library card numbers: add the prefix CSSWL (all CAPS) directly in front of your card number to log in. 

Business Insights: Global

Compare global economies, countries, and industries with in-depth analysis on over 400,000 companies. 

Global Issues: Gale In Context

Analyze important global issues and events through topic overviews, international viewpoints, news, and multimedia content. 

Informe Acedemico: Gale OneFile

Search across full-text Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines from and about Latin America. 

Pop Culture Studies: Gale OneFile

Access scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture.

Religion and Philosophy: Gale OneFile

Research the impact of religion on culture throughout history, including literature, arts, and language. Updated daily.

Rocket Languages

Register on a computer with your library card, then download the app and use it on your mobile device. You will be speaking and improving your language skills with every lesson by taking part in the modern, everyday 
conversations that make up our Interactive Audio Course. 
Tutorial video guide here: Rocket Languages Guide

World Factbook

This U.S. government publication provides reliable, up-to-date information about countries around the world. No login required.

Curriculum resources for teachers

Educator's Reference Complete: Gale OneFile

Gain insight on issues in administration, funding, and policy. Best for educators, administrators, and education students.

Gale In Context: Elementary

Introduce elementary students to database searching with resources featuring age-appropriate, curriculum-related content. 

Download & stream

Download & stream

Download or stream e-books, audiobooks, comics, magazines, and movies from Central Skagit Library!

Gardening & home maintenence

Agriculture: Gale OneFile

Access current and authoritative periodical content covering agriculture and its related fields. 

Gardening and Horticulture: Gale OneFile

Find millions of articles on the practical and scientific aspects of horticulture studies. For all horticultural enthusiasts. 

Home Improvement: Gale OneFile

Search home improvement topics such as architectural techniques, tool and material selection, zoning requirements, and more. 

History

Contemporary Women's Issues: Gale OneFile

Find timely and historically relevant content on issues that influence women's lives across the globe. 

Military and Intelligence: Gale OneFile

Search scholarly journals, magazines, and reports covering all aspects of past and present military affairs. Updated daily. 

Religion and Philosophy: Gale OneFile

Research the impact of religion on culture throughout history, including literature, arts, and language. Updated daily.

Scholastic FreedomFLIX

FreedomFlix is an exciting digital resource that will engage even the most reluctant readers! With more than 60 social studies units spanning ten core curricula areas, FreedomFlix provides a wealth
of learning opportunities. 

Scholastic TrueFLIX

Offering dozens of units to supplement social studies and science core-curricula learning, TrueFlix is a highly-engaging multimedia resource for students in grades 3–5. Beautiful, authentic ebooks are enhanced by a deep and diverse reservoir of related content in a variety of text types and media—including primary sources, fiction, videos, audio clips, images, and related websites.

Sedro-Woolley Heritage

Sedro-Woolley Heritage documents the early culture, industry, and community life of Sedro-Woolley and locations throughout Washington's Skagit County. The collection is a project of the Central Skagit Sedro-Woolley Library and the Sedro-Woolley Museum, funded by a grant from the Washington State Library.

U.S. History: Gale OneFile

Search balanced coverage of events in U.S. history. Best for novice historians and academic researchers. Updated daily. 

War and Terrorism: Gale OneFile

Gain valuable insight into conflicts and their causes, impact, and perception on a global scale. 

Washington State Library Newspaper Microfilm Services

Provides information about newspapers available on microfilm from the Washington State Library and how to access them.

World History: Gale OneFile

Access balanced coverage of events in world history and scholarly work being established in the field. 

Homework help: College

Business Insights: Global

Compare global economies, countries, and industries with in-depth analysis on over 400,000 companies. 

Communications & Mass Media: Gale OneFile

Search millions of articles covering all aspects of communications, including advertising, public relations, and more. 

Contemporary Women's Issues: Gale OneFile

Find timely and historically relevant content on issues that influence women's lives across the globe. 

Economics and Theory: Gale OneFile

Discover content useful for starting a business, marketing a product, developing policy, analyzing trends, and more.

Entrepreneurship: Gale OneFile

Analyze business insights, tips, strategies, and success stories. Updated daily. Best for business schools and entrepreneurs.

Environmental Studies and Policy: Gale OneFile

Investigate environmental issues with diverse perspectives from the scientific community, policymakers, and corporate interests. 

Fine Arts: Gale OneFile

Search millions of articles about drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. Diverse resource for serious fine arts students. 

Gale Academic OneFile

Quickly access articles from a database of scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals. Best for academic research. 

Gender Studies: Gale OneFile

Discover balanced coverage of topics related to gender studies, family and marital issues, and more. 

Homework Central

Authoritative information on a variety of topics to assist student research. Provided by Proquest. 
Library patrons may contact the library for the Homework Central username and password
Phone: 360-755-3985   Email: help@centralskagitlibrary.org
Tutorial guides here: CultureGrams GuideeLibrary GuideHistory Study Center GuideProQuest GuideProQuest Learning: Literature GuideSIRS Discoverer Guide

 

Leadership and Management: Gale OneFile

Search authoritative periodical content covering topics like organizational dynamics, adult learning, and more.

Nursing and Allied Health: Gale OneFile

Research full-text titles cited in CINAHL and other resources to support specialized care, treatment, and patient management. 

Petersons Test and Career Prep - from Gale Presents

Practice tests and preparation guides for college entrance, career certifications and much more.

U.S. History: Gale OneFile

Search balanced coverage of events in U.S. history. Best for novice historians and academic researchers. Updated daily. 

Vocations and Careers: Gale OneFile

Research a vocation, find an appropriate institution of learning, and get assistance on job searches and maintaining a career.

World History: Gale OneFile

Access balanced coverage of events in world history and scholarly work being established in the field. 

Homework help: Elementary school

Gale In Context: Elementary

Introduce elementary students to database searching with resources featuring age-appropriate, curriculum-related content. 

Homework Central

Authoritative information on a variety of topics to assist student research. Provided by Proquest. 
Library patrons may contact the library for the Homework Central username and password
Phone: 360-755-3985   Email: help@centralskagitlibrary.org
Tutorial guides here: CultureGrams GuideeLibrary GuideHistory Study Center GuideProQuest GuideProQuest Learning: Literature GuideSIRS Discoverer Guide

 

Scholastic BookFLIX

​BookFLIX is a digital literacy resource that pairs more than 120 animated stories from Weston Woods with a best-selling nonfiction eBook from Scholastic on a similar subject. 

Scholastic FreedomFLIX

FreedomFlix is an exciting digital resource that will engage even the most reluctant readers! With more than 60 social studies units spanning ten core curricula areas, FreedomFlix provides a wealth
of learning opportunities. 

Scholastic ScienceFLIX

Emphasizing the latest STEM thinking and the Next Generation Science Standards, ScienceFlix® is transforming the way students access science topics, acquire scientific knowledge, and build an abiding interest in science, technology, and engineering.

Scholastic TrueFLIX

Offering dozens of units to supplement social studies and science core-curricula learning, TrueFlix is a highly-engaging multimedia resource for students in grades 3–5. Beautiful, authentic ebooks are enhanced by a deep and diverse reservoir of related content in a variety of text types and media—including primary sources, fiction, videos, audio clips, images, and related websites.

Homework help: High school

Business Insights: Global

Compare global economies, countries, and industries with in-depth analysis on over 400,000 companies. 

Fine Arts: Gale OneFile

Search millions of articles about drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. Diverse resource for serious fine arts students. 

Gale Academic OneFile

Quickly access articles from a database of scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals. Best for academic research. 

Gale OneFile: High School Edition

Search magazines, journals, newspapers, and reference on a range of topics. Best for middle- and high-school students. 

Homework Central

Authoritative information on a variety of topics to assist student research. Provided by Proquest. 
Library patrons may contact the library for the Homework Central username and password
Phone: 360-755-3985   Email: help@centralskagitlibrary.org
Tutorial guides here: CultureGrams GuideeLibrary GuideHistory Study Center GuideProQuest GuideProQuest Learning: Literature GuideSIRS Discoverer Guide

 

Petersons Test and Career Prep - from Gale Presents

Practice tests and preparation guides for college entrance, career certifications and much more.

Vocations and Careers: Gale OneFile

Research a vocation, find an appropriate institution of learning, and get assistance on job searches and maintaining a career.

Washington State Driver License prep

The Washington State Department of Licensing website provides everything you need to know about getting a driver license in Washington, including the complete Washington Driver Guide (written in seven languages, audio available in English only) and practice for the knowledge test in English and Spanish.

World History: Gale OneFile

Access balanced coverage of events in world history and scholarly work being established in the field. 

Homework help: Middle school

Homework Central

Authoritative information on a variety of topics to assist student research. Provided by Proquest. 
Library patrons may contact the library for the Homework Central username and password
Phone: 360-755-3985   Email: help@centralskagitlibrary.org
Tutorial guides here: CultureGrams GuideeLibrary GuideHistory Study Center GuideProQuest GuideProQuest Learning: Literature GuideSIRS Discoverer Guide

 

Legal forms & information

Criminal Justice: Gale OneFile

Comprehensive periodical content for researchers studying law, law enforcement, forensic science, terrorism, and more. 

Entrepreneurship: Gale Business

Designed specifically for peoppl who are starting or operating their own business. Learn how to start, finance, or manage your small business. Includes sample business plans, how to guides, legal forms, articles, and more. 

Insurance and Liability: Gale OneFile

Discover information about physical and intellectual asset protection, from individuals to multinational corporations. 

Legal Forms: Gale

Take the law into your own hands and create accurate, reliable legal documents with no hassle with Gale LegalForms. It offers Washington-specific “attorney forms” – officially approved forms actually used by law firms. Many of the forms and documents are available in Word and Adobe format so you just need to simply “fill in the blanks.”

Local information

Employment Security Department

Whether your are job seeking or unable to work, Employment Security has programs that may be useful.

FamHelp

​The Aging and Long-Term Support Administration is committed to the safety and well-being of residents and staff at every long-term care facility in Washington. We are also committed to helping families with loved ones in a long-term care facility get accurate and timely information.

Helping Hands Food Bank

Helping Hands Food Bank serves the area around Sedro-Woolley.

Office of the Secretary of State | Washington State Library

​Grouping of resources provided by the Washington State Library.

OnwardWA

Have you lost your job? OnwardWA is a one-stop resource for the people of Washington impacted by job loss during the Covid-19 pandemic. Connect to essential life resources (money, food, shelter, etc.), retraining opportunities, or your next job. ​

Sedro-Woolley Heritage

Sedro-Woolley Heritage documents the early culture, industry, and community life of Sedro-Woolley and locations throughout Washington's Skagit County. The collection is a project of the Central Skagit Sedro-Woolley Library and the Sedro-Woolley Museum, funded by a grant from the Washington State Library.

Skagit County Public Health Department

​Skagit County Public Health provides up-to-date information on health issues in our county and resources to help us all stay healthy.

Skagit County Re-Entry and Resource Guide

Skagit community resource guide for people seeking resources for ow income and re-entry after leaving prison; housing and food assistance; family law; employment; healthcare; and many other services.

PDF icon202200921_Skagit County Reentry Resource GuideWithHours.pdf

PDF icon20220909-Spanish Civil Survival Translated Version.pdf

Washington State Department of Commerce

The Office of Crime Victim Advocacy (OCVA) within the state Department of Commerce provides grants for crime victim service providers and offers a guide to resources for crime victims, as well as a Direct Services hotline for assistance in connecting with these resources at 1-800-822-1067.

Washington State Department of Corrections

Provides information related to the Department of Corrections, including support for families of those incarcerated and for special services for victims of crimes.

Washington State Department of Labor & Industries

The Crime Victims Compensation Program of the Washington State Department of Labor and Industries (L&I) handles claims for medical bills and other expenses from crime victims, including lost wages for a parent caring for a child victim.

Washington State Governor's Office

Information and resources from the Governor's Office.

WorkSource Washington

WorkSource is a statewide partnership of state, local and nonprofit agencies that provides an array of employment and training services to job seekers and employers in Washington.

Medicine & health

Culinary Arts: Gale OneFile

Find a variety of information from major cooking and nutrition magazines as well as key reference titles. 

Health and Medicine: Gale OneFile

Find up-to-date information on a range of health care topics. Best for students, researchers, and health care professionals. 

Health and Wellness: Gale

Search a full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to alternative medical practices. 

Nursing and Allied Health: Gale OneFile

Research full-text titles cited in CINAHL and other resources to support specialized care, treatment, and patient management. 

Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine: Gale OneFile

Access academic journals and magazines covering the fields of physical therapy, physical fitness, and sports medicine. 

Psychology: Gale OneFile

Find authoritative periodical content supporting research in all fields of psychology. 

Skagit County Public Health Department

​Skagit County Public Health provides up-to-date information on health issues in our county and resources to help us all stay healthy.

Washington State Department of Health

Provides information on all aspects of public health in Washington.

Newspapers & magazines

Access World News: Research Collection

Explore and stay informed on local, national and international topics, people and events in areas such as business, health, education, jobs and careers, political and social issues and more. Features a wide variety of credible, vetted news sources from around the world to around the corner. Includes lesson plans!

Business: Gale OneFile

Understand the activities of companies and industries worldwide through leading business and trade publications. Updated daily. 

Contemporary Women's Issues: Gale OneFile

Find timely and historically relevant content on issues that influence women's lives across the globe. 

Culinary Arts: Gale OneFile

Find a variety of information from major cooking and nutrition magazines as well as key reference titles. 

Information Science: Gale OneFile

Access articles covering all aspects of managing and maintaining information and technology. Updated daily. 

Informe Acedemico: Gale OneFile

Search across full-text Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines from and about Latin America. 

Military and Intelligence: Gale OneFile

Search scholarly journals, magazines, and reports covering all aspects of past and present military affairs. Updated daily. 

News: Gale OneFile

Access major U.S. and international newspapers online to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, or other fields. 

Pop Culture Studies: Gale OneFile

Access scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture.

Popular Magazines: Gale OneFile

Access the most searched magazines across Gale OneFile focusing on current events, sports, science, and health issues. 

Science: Gale OneFile

Access information on the latest developments across a range of scientific disciplines. Updated daily. 

The Seattle Times Collection

The Seattle Times is the largest daily newspaper in the state of Washington. Founded as a four-page paper with a 19th-century circulation of 3,500, the area’s only major daily print publication has been a trusted source of local news and information in the Pacific Northwest for decades. Today this independently owned newspaper has an international reputation for investigative journalism, and its reporting has received numerous Pulitzer Prizes.

U.S. History: Gale OneFile

Search balanced coverage of events in U.S. history. Best for novice historians and academic researchers. Updated daily. 

Washington State Library Digital Newspaper Archive

​The site features new titles in the State Library’s digital newspaper collection, with full-text article search of more than 400,000 pages from the State Library’s collection of historic Washington newspapers. Visitors can interact with the site with the help of text correction features to improve search results on dark or damaged pages, by attaching subject tags to articles, and saving their search history for larger research projects.

Washington State Library Newspaper Microfilm Services

Provides information about newspapers available on microfilm from the Washington State Library and how to access them.

​​Washington State Newspapers

Access to over 100 news sources based in the state of Washington.

Research & professional journals

Agriculture: Gale OneFile

Access current and authoritative periodical content covering agriculture and its related fields. 

Business: Gale OneFile

Understand the activities of companies and industries worldwide through leading business and trade publications. Updated daily. 

Business Insights: Global

Compare global economies, countries, and industries with in-depth analysis on over 400,000 companies. 

Communications & Mass Media: Gale OneFile

Search millions of articles covering all aspects of communications, including advertising, public relations, and more. 

Computer Science: Gale OneFile

Access leading business and technical publications in the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries. 

Contemporary Women's Issues: Gale OneFile

Find timely and historically relevant content on issues that influence women's lives across the globe. 

Criminal Justice: Gale OneFile

Comprehensive periodical content for researchers studying law, law enforcement, forensic science, terrorism, and more. 

Culinary Arts: Gale OneFile

Find a variety of information from major cooking and nutrition magazines as well as key reference titles. 

DemographicsNow: Business and People - from Gale Business

A powerful online subscription resource, Gale Business: DemographicsNow connects users with a wealth of highly detailed demographic data that spans the entire United States—making it ideal for gaining consumer and market insight for opening a business, finding an untapped audience for products/services, analyzing the shifts and needs of a given population, and much more.

Diversity Studies: Gale OneFile

Access a range of periodical content to explore cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community. 

Economics and Theory: Gale OneFile

Discover content useful for starting a business, marketing a product, developing policy, analyzing trends, and more.

Entrepreneurship: Gale Business

Designed specifically for peoppl who are starting or operating their own business. Learn how to start, finance, or manage your small business. Includes sample business plans, how to guides, legal forms, articles, and more. 

Environmental Studies and Policy: Gale OneFile

Investigate environmental issues with diverse perspectives from the scientific community, policymakers, and corporate interests. 

Fine Arts: Gale OneFile

Search millions of articles about drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. Diverse resource for serious fine arts students. 

Gale Academic OneFile

Quickly access articles from a database of scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals. Best for academic research. 

Gender Studies: Gale OneFile

Discover balanced coverage of topics related to gender studies, family and marital issues, and more. 

Health and Medicine: Gale OneFile

Find up-to-date information on a range of health care topics. Best for students, researchers, and health care professionals. 

Hospitality and Tourism: Gale OneFile

Discover well-rounded coverage of both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism industries. 

Information Science: Gale OneFile

Access articles covering all aspects of managing and maintaining information and technology. Updated daily. 

Informe Acedemico: Gale OneFile

Search across full-text Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines from and about Latin America. 

Insurance and Liability: Gale OneFile

Discover information about physical and intellectual asset protection, from individuals to multinational corporations. 

Leadership and Management: Gale OneFile

Search authoritative periodical content covering topics like organizational dynamics, adult learning, and more.

Military and Intelligence: Gale OneFile

Search scholarly journals, magazines, and reports covering all aspects of past and present military affairs. Updated daily. 

Nursing and Allied Health: Gale OneFile

Research full-text titles cited in CINAHL and other resources to support specialized care, treatment, and patient management. 

Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine: Gale OneFile

Access academic journals and magazines covering the fields of physical therapy, physical fitness, and sports medicine. 

Pop Culture Studies: Gale OneFile

Access scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture.

Psychology: Gale OneFile

Find authoritative periodical content supporting research in all fields of psychology. 

Religion and Philosophy: Gale OneFile

Research the impact of religion on culture throughout history, including literature, arts, and language. Updated daily.

War and Terrorism: Gale OneFile

Gain valuable insight into conflicts and their causes, impact, and perception on a global scale. 

World History: Gale OneFile

Access balanced coverage of events in world history and scholarly work being established in the field. 

Science

Agriculture: Gale OneFile

Access current and authoritative periodical content covering agriculture and its related fields. 

Computer Science: Gale OneFile

Access leading business and technical publications in the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries. 

Environmental Studies and Policy: Gale OneFile

Investigate environmental issues with diverse perspectives from the scientific community, policymakers, and corporate interests. 

Gardening and Horticulture: Gale OneFile

Find millions of articles on the practical and scientific aspects of horticulture studies. For all horticultural enthusiasts. 

Health and Medicine: Gale OneFile

Find up-to-date information on a range of health care topics. Best for students, researchers, and health care professionals. 

Information Science: Gale OneFile

Access articles covering all aspects of managing and maintaining information and technology. Updated daily. 

Scholastic ScienceFLIX

Emphasizing the latest STEM thinking and the Next Generation Science Standards, ScienceFlix® is transforming the way students access science topics, acquire scientific knowledge, and build an abiding interest in science, technology, and engineering.

Scholastic TrueFLIX

Offering dozens of units to supplement social studies and science core-curricula learning, TrueFlix is a highly-engaging multimedia resource for students in grades 3–5. Beautiful, authentic ebooks are enhanced by a deep and diverse reservoir of related content in a variety of text types and media—including primary sources, fiction, videos, audio clips, images, and related websites.

Science: Gale OneFile

Access information on the latest developments across a range of scientific disciplines. Updated daily. 

Skagit County Public Health Department

​Skagit County Public Health provides up-to-date information on health issues in our county and resources to help us all stay healthy.

Study guides & practice tests

LinkedIn Learning

LinkedIn Learning, formerly Lynda.com, is a leading online learning platform that helps anyone learn business, software, technology and creative skills to achieve personal and professional goals. Through the Washington State Library subscription, patrons have access to the LinkedIn Learning video library of engaging, top-quality courses taught by recognized industry experts. For 20 years, Lynda.com has helped students, leaders, IT and design pros, project managers—anyone in any role—develop software, creative, and business skills. 

Northstar Digital Literacy

Northstar Digital Literacy is an online learning platform focused on everyday computer skills. Register for a free account to get access to their courses and tests: Basic Computer Skills, Internet Basics, Using Email, Windows, Microsoft Products, Social Media, Information Literacy, Career Search Skills, Your Digital Footprint, K-12 Distance Learning. 

To receive a certificate for passing one of the assessment tests, the test must be proctored.  Email the Washington State Library at certify@sos.wa.gov to inquire about taking a proctored assessment; be sure to include your ZIP code in the request.

Northstar is made available to Washington citizens by the Washington State Library.

Visit Northstar Digital Literacy

 

Petersons Test and Career Prep - from Gale Presents

Practice tests and preparation guides for college entrance, career certifications and much more.

Washington State Driver License prep

The Washington State Department of Licensing website provides everything you need to know about getting a driver license in Washington, including the complete Washington Driver Guide (written in seven languages, audio available in English only) and practice for the knowledge test in English and Spanish.

Washington State Library Microsoft Imagine Academy

The Washington Libraries Microsoft Imagine Academy is a free program for the people who want to improve their computer skills on any level (basic to advanced). This new online resource provides a wide variety of official Microsoft courses and learning resources covering subjects from digital literacy to business skills to advanced networking and programming skills. Click on the icon to reach the Secretary of State webpage hosting access to the Microsoft Imagine Academy. ​There, you may enter your zip code and select "Library, State (LIB)" in the dropdown box to access the online learning.